Boks end losing run in Buenos Aires

2015-08-16 09:00
Bryan Habana (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Springboks put an end to their losing run with a 26-12 win over Argentina in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

As it happened: Argentina go down to the Boks

The Boks led 20-9 at the break.

Pat Lambie opened the scoring in the sixth minute with a penalty before Argentina responded with a penalty from the boot of Nicolas Sanchez.

Lambie added another three points in the 17th minute.

Springbok wing Bryan Habana stunned the home crowd into silence when he crossed in the corner in the 26th minute. Lambie slotted the conversion from the corner to keep his 100% kicking record alive.

Lwazi Mvovo scored a brilliant try after some fine interplay from the forwards. The Sharks flyer still had plenty to do as he shrugged off three tacklers to dot down for the visitors. Lambie added the extras.

Sanchez then reduced the deficit with two more penalties.

Lambie added three points after the break with a drop goal before Sanchez and Lambie traded further penalties.

The hosts failed to get back into the contest and were dealt a blow when lock Tomas Lavanini was sin-binned for a cynical foul at the breakdown.

The Springboks failed to turn their dominance into more points despite being camped in the Argentine 22m for large parts in the last 10 minutes.


South Africa

Tries: Bryan Habana, Lwazi Mvovo

Conversions: Pat Lambie (2)

Penalties: Lambie (3)

Drop goal: Lambie


Penalties: Nicolas Sanchez (4)



15-Joaquin Tuculet, 14-Santiago Cordero, 13-Matias Moroni, 12-Juan Martin Hernandez, 11-Juan Imhoff, 10-Nicolas Sanchez, 9-Martin Landajo; 8-Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 7-Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, 6-Tomas Lezana, 5-Tomas Lavanini, 4-Benjamin Macome, 3-Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2-Agustin Creevy (captain), 1-Marcos Ayerza

Substitutes: 16-Julian Montoya, 17-Lucas Noguera, 18-Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19-Matias Alemanno, 20-Pablo Matera, 21-Tomas Cubelli, 22-Juan Pablo Socino, 23-Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino

South Africa

15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Lwazi Mvovo, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Trevor Nyakane

Substitutes: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20, Pieter-Steph du Toit, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Handre Pollard, 23 Jan Serfontein

Read more on:    springboks  |  pat lambie  |  lwazi mvovo  |  bryan habana  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

The Springboks' best player at the 2019 Rugby World Cup was:

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.