Bok captains to gather in CT

2013-03-25 16:26
Jean de Villiers (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Current captain Jean de Villiers will join the oldest living Springbok skipper, 83-year-old Des van Jaarsveldt, and 40 others in Cape Town on Wednesday, to mark the countdown to the opening of a new rugby museum.

The group of 42 national team captains - including Gary Teichman, Bob Skinstad and Joost van der Westhuizen - from South African rugby's diverse history would gather to capture their handprints in special moulds in a public ceremony, the SA Rugby Union (SARU) confirmed on Monday.

The moulds would later be cast into bronze and installed as part of the new Springbok Experience museum, which is due to open at the Waterfront in September.

"We have had a tremendous response from the captains for what will be a once-in-a-lifetime event," said SARU president Oregan Hoskins.

"The Springbok Experience will tell their story, and of the teams they captained.

"By capturing their handprints for posterity we will have a permanent record that those players passed this way, one that rugby followers can literally touch.

"It will be a very special occasion, to have more than 40 national captains assembled in one place, and one that will never be repeated."

Austen van Heerden, the oldest living captain of the former SA Coloured Rugby Football Board - who led the team in 1961 - would be in attendance, as well as Bomza Nkhola, the oldest surviving captain of the SA African Rugby Board.

SARU said the experience would tell the story of rugby in South Africa from the 1860s, as well as the 'traditional' Springbok story, including that of black rugby players and administrators.

The full list of confirmed captains - in historical order - is as follows:

Des van Jaarsveldt; Avril Malan; Austen van Heerden; Abie Malan; Ebrahim Rinquest; Nelie Smith; John Bekkers; Dawie de Villiers; Welile (“Bomza”) Nkhola; Salie Fredericks; Norman Mbiko; Hannes Marais; Dougie Dyers; Piet Greyling; Liston Ntshongwana; Thompson Magxala; Cassiem Jabaar; Jack Juries; Peter Jooste; Theuns Stofberg; Wynand Claassen; Julian Smith; Randy Marinus; Divan Serfontein; Naas Botha; Peter Slabbert; Fagmie Solomons; Jannie Breedt, Allister Coetzee*; Francois Pienaar; Tiaan Strauss; Adriaan Richter; Gary Teichmann; Corné Krige; Rassie Erasmus; Joost van der Westhuizen; Andre Vos; Bobby Skinstad; Nomsebenzi Tsotsobe; Mandisa Williams; Ingrid Botha, Jean de Villiers*.

* Stormers commitments permitting.

The Springbok experience: The 800m2 facility will feature a modern, interactive rugby museum, Springbok shop and ‘Springbok Trials’ rugby skills zone. The Springbok Experience replaces SARU’s former museum in Boundary Road, Newlands and is set to provide an eye-opening contrast to traditional museums.

Read more on:    springboks  |  jean de villiers  |  cape town  |  rugby

Rona signs for Waratahs

2017-12-18 17:45

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Saturday, 09 June 2018
New Zealand v France, Auckland 09:35
Australia v Ireland, Brisbane 12:05
South Africa v England, Johannesburg 17:05
Saturday, 16 June 2018
New Zealand v France, Wellington 09:35
Australia v Ireland, Melbourne 12:05
South Africa v England, Bloemfontein 17:05
Saturday, 23 June 2018
New Zealand v France, Dunedin 09:35
Australia v Ireland, Sydney 12:05
South Africa v England, Cape Town 17:05
Saturday, 18 August 2018
South Africa v Argentina, Durban 00:00
Saturday, 25 August 2018
Argentina v South Africa, TBA 00:00
Saturday, 08 September 2018
Australia v South Africa, Brisbane 00:00

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.