Bok duo's tries on shortlist

2014-11-19 18:30
Cornal Hendricks (AP)
Cape Town - Springbok tries by Francois Hougaard and Cornal Hendricks are among the contenders for the International Rugby Players’ Association (IRPA) Try of the Year 2014, World Rugby (formerly known as the IRB) has announced on Wednesday.


The winner will be named by the end of the year.

Hendricks’ contender try came on his debut against Wales in Durban in June.

He finished off a move inspired by and twice featuring Willie le Roux who started the move in his own 22 and popped up again to make the scoring pass for the wing to dot down.

Hougaard’s try brought the Ellis Park crowd to its feet in the final match of the Rugby Championship in October.

The scrumhalf dived under the posts to finish off a move that had begun deep in South Africa’s 22 and involved all of the backline on the way to a Springbok victory over New Zealand.

The award has been won twice previously by Springboks through Bryan Habana (2012) and Jaque Fourie (2009).

The other contenders in 2014 are tries by Welshman Jamie Roberts, Canada’s IRB Women’s Player of the Year 2014 Magali Harvey and England’s Jonny May.

The quintet was selected by the IRPA Try of Year panel of former players in Samoa’s Seilala Mapusua, All Black Jeff Wilson, Ireland’s Alan Quinlan and Dan Parks of Scotland.

In support of the initial nomination process, fans now have the chance to have their say on the shortlist via social media.

The results of the public vote will be considered by the panel when finalising the winner.

World Rugby Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: “These players have all given enormous enjoyment to fans around the world with their skill. These tries are testament to Rugby’s character-building values of teamwork and enjoyment and I am looking forward to seeing the result of the fan voting.”

Previous winners

– Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
2012Bryan Habana (South Africa)
2011 – Radike Samo (Australia)
2010 – Chris Ashton (England)
2009 – Jaque Fourie (South Africa)
2008 Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Following the conclusion of the various end of year tours to Europe, who is your favourite for the 2019 Rugby World Cup title?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.