2 Springboks named in English 'Dream Team'

2018-05-17 08:03
Willie le Roux (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Two Springboks - Willie le Roux and Faf de Klerk - have been named in England's Premiership 'Team of the Year' for the 2017/18 season.

The acknowledgement comes at a time when both players are believed to be on new Bok coach Rassie Erasmus' radar ahead of the June International window. 

De Klerk was also one of five players nominated for the 'Player of the Year' award, but that honour went to Vereniki Goneva of the Newcastle Falcons after the Fijian wing was the joint top try-scorer in the competition with 13.

England's Premiership Team of the Year:

15 Willie le Roux (Wasps), 14 Vereniki Goneva (Newcastle Falcons), 13 Rob Horne (Northampton Saints), 12 Matt Toomua (Leicester Tigers), 11 Josh Adams (Worcester Warriors), 10 Danny Cipriani (Wasps), 9 Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks), 8 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs), 7 Don Armand (Exeter Chiefs), 6 Jamie Gibson (Northampton Saints), 5 Ed Slater (Gloucester Rugby), 4 Calum Green (Newcastle Falcons), 3 John Afoa (Gloucester Rugby), 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), 1 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

The Springboks' best player at the 2019 Rugby World Cup was:

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.