South Africa 2023

SA chasing magical 20 RWC 2023 vote tally

2017-10-07 10:49
World Rugby

South African deputy president Cyril Ramaphosa, 1995 RWC-winning captain Francois Pienaar and 2007 winning skipper John Smit present the country's bid to host the 2023 tournament.

Cape Town - South Africa will need 20 World Rugby Council votes to host the 2023 Rugby World Cup and the votes of SANZAAR partners New Zealand, Australia and Argentina are integral to these votes, as is the trio's ability to influence other nations to align with South Africa.

The vote takes place on November 15.

The World Rugby’s 2023 RWC bid criteria is

1. Venues and infrastructure commensurate with a top-tier major event

2. Comprehensive and enforceable public and private sector guarantees

3. A commercially successful event with a fully funded, robust financial model

4. Operational excellence through an integrated and experienced delivery team

5. A vision that engages and inspires domestic and international audiences and contributes to the growth of rugby at all levels

6. An enabling environment of political and financial stability that respects the diversity of Rugby World Cup’s global stakeholders

7. An environment and climate suited to top-level sport in a geography that allows maximum fan mobility

Timeline of 2023 bid

* South Africa, along with the other two bidding countries France and Ireland, officially submitted their respective bids to World Rugby’s head office in Dublin on May 31

* All three candidates had to by July 31 submit the signed host agreement and the signed guarantee letters, in person to the World Rugby head office in Dublin

* The all candidates on September 25 each made a presentation to the World Rugby Council in London

* The Board of Rugby World Cup Ltd, based on the evaluation process from three independent companies, will in mid-October issue a recommendation to World Rugby Council as to who should be the 2023 hosts

* World Rugby is expected to make public the independent recommendation by October 31

* The World Rugby Council does not automatically accept the recommendation. The Council will vote to determine the host on November 15

How the vote works

It is a straight majority vote. If no country gets a majority in the first round of voting then the country with the least number of votes at that point is eliminated. In the event of a split decision, the chairman, has the casting vote. 

There are 39 votes and 20 votes will ensure a winner. None of the three bidding countries can vote.

World Council voting

Tier 1

England 3 votes

Wales 3 votes 

Scotland 3 votes

Italy 3 votes

New Zealand 3 votes

Australia 3 votes

Argentina 3 votes

Regional Associations

Oceania 2 votes

South America 2 votes

North America 2 votes

Africa 2 votes

Europe 2 votes

Asia 2 votes

Japan 2 vote

Other Unions

Canada 1 vote

USA 1 vote

Georgia 1 vote

Romanian 1 vote

Total: 39 votes

Read more on:    rwc 2023  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights


Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.