South Africa 2023

RWC hosts and tournament winners

2017-11-16 06:00

London - The host country of the 2023 Rugby World Cup will be decided on Wednesday, November 15 when 39 World Rugby Council members vote with South Africa, France and Ireland competing for the prize.

A look at previous Webb Ellis Cup hosts as well as who won the tournament.

1987 - Hosts: New Zealand

WINNERS: New Zealand

1991 - Hosts: England

WINNERS: Australia

1995 - Hosts: South Africa

WINNERS: South Africa

1999 - Hosts: Wales

WINNERS: Australia

2003 - Hosts: Australia

WINNERS: England

2007 - Hosts: France

WINNERS: South Africa

2011 - Hosts: New Zealand

WINNERS: New Zealand

2015 - Hosts: England

WINNERS: New Zealand

2019 - Hosts: Japan


2013 - Hosts: France


Read more on:    rwc  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News


Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.