Six Nations

Slater, Burrell get England call

2016-03-07 07:59
Luther Burrell (Gallo)

London - Leicester forward Ed Slater and Northampton centre Luther Burrell were on Sunday called into England's training squad for next weekend's Six Nations clash with Wales.

They are replacements for injured Northampton lock Courtney Lawes who damaged his ankle during Saturday's Premiership win at Saracens.

Burrell comes in for Harlequins wing Marland Yarde who sustained a shoulder injury during his side's loss to Sale.

Leicester powerhouse back Manu Tuilagi was also included for the Twickenham contest against Wales next Saturday even though his Leicester employers insist he's not ready for international rugby.

Tuilagi has not played for England since 2014 due to injury but remains in line for a return to international action against Wales.

Speaking after Tuilagi scored his first Premiership try of the season during the Tigers' 31-27 win over Exeter on Sunday, Leicester director of rugby Richard Cockerill said: "Manu did some good things today but I don't think he is ready to play Test rugby.

"Even if you put him on the bench to be an impact player for the last half an hour, what happens if you have to put him on after five minutes?"

Bath centre Ollie Devoto, having recovered from concussion, is also part of the group.

England training squad for the Six Nations clash against Wales at Twickenham on Saturday:


Kieran Brookes (Northampton), Dan Cole (Leicester), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter), Jack Clifford (Harlequins), Dave Ewers (Exeter), Jamie George (Saracens), Dylan Hartley (Northampton), James Haskell (Wasps), Paul Hill (Northampton), Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Matt Kvesic (Gloucester), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Matt Mullan (Wasps), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Ed Slater (Leicester), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens)


Mike Brown (Harlequins), Luther Burrell (Northampton), Danny Care (Harlequins), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Ollie Devoto (Bath), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Bath), Alex Goode (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (Bath), Jack Nowell (Exeter) Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath), Manu Tuilagi (Leicester), Anthony Watson (Bath), Ben Youngs (Leicester)

Read more on:    england  |  six nations  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk


Who will win the 2017 Six Nations title?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.