Six Nations

Larmour named in Ireland's 6N squad

2018-01-17 20:12
Joe Schmidt (Getty)

London - Jordan Larmour has been handed a first Ireland call-up after the Leinster fullback was named on Wednesday in Joe Schmidt's Six Nations squad.

Larmour, 20, has impressed for Leinster in both PRO14 and Champions Cup action this season.

Now he has the chance to earn a place in the Ireland team for the start of their Six Nations campaign against France in Paris on February 3.

Sean O'Brien has missed out on selection due to a hip injury, leaving the British and Irish Lions flanker a doubt for the fast-approaching tournament.

"It's been great to witness some quality performances from provincial teams over the last seven weeks of European and derby matches, with a number of players performing well," Ireland boss Schmidt said.

"There were some very tight decisions but it's great to see some competitive depth in a number of positions."

Leinster flanker O'Brien joins the likes of Garry Ringrose, Jared Payne and Jamie Heaslip among the long-term absentees that Ireland must do without, at least for the opening rounds of Six Nations action.

Leinster wing Fergus McFadden has forced his way back into the ranks, and could make his first Test appearance since the 35-25 victory over Scotland in Dublin on March 19, 2016.

Playmaker Joey Carbery has been included as he continues his recovery from the wrist injury he suffered during Ireland's November internationals.

Ireland squad:

Forwards: Rory Best (capt, Ulster), Jack Conan, Sean Cronin (both Leinster), Ultan Dillane (Connacht), Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy (both Leinster), Iain Henderson, Rob Herring (both Ulster), David Kilcoyne (Munster), Dan Leavy, Jack McGrath, Jordi Murphy (all Leinster), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Andrew Porter (Leinster), Quinn Roux (Connacht), James Ryan (Leinster), John Ryan, CJ Stander (both Munster), Devin Toner, Jiosh Van der Flier (both Leinster).

Backs: Bundee Aki (Connacht), Joey Carbery (Leinster), Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell (all Munster), Robbie Henshaw, Rob Kearney (both Leinster), Ian Keatley (Munster), Jordan Larmour (Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Fergus McFadden, Luke McGrath (both Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Johnny Sexton (Leinster), Rory Scannell (Munster), Jacob Stockdale (Ulster).

Read more on:    ireland  |  six nations  |  joe schmidt  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will win the 2018 Six Nations title?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.