Six Nations

Jones rings England changes for Ireland

2018-03-15 15:39
Eddie Jones (Getty)

Bagshot - England coach Eddie Jones has dropped half-backs Danny Care and George Ford for Saturday's Six Nations finale against Ireland at Twickenham.

Saracens scrumhalf Richard Wigglesworth starts in place of Care and will resume his club partnership with Owen Farrell, normally a centre for England but now at flyhalf instead of childhood friend Ford.

These were just two of the most eye-catching of several changes made by Jones following England's 22-16 loss to France in Paris last weekend - a defeat that ended their hopes of a third successive Six Nations title under the Australian coach.

Ben Te'o filled the inside centre position vacated by Farrell and forms a midfield duo with Jonathan Joseph after both men had been competing for the same place for most of this tournament.

Meanwhile wing Elliot Daly was passed fit following a foot problem.

Up front, fit-again hooker Dylan Hartley returns as captain after missing the defeat in Paris.

He was one of five changes to England's pack announced Thursday, with Jones reshaping the back-row following tournament-ending injuries to Nathan Hughes and Courtney Lawes.

Their places were taken by Sam Simmonds and James Haskell, while prop Kyle Sinckler started in place of Dan Cole.

England are bidding to avoid losing three Tests in a row for the first time under Jones against an Ireland side bidding to win a Grand Slam.

England team to play Ireland in a Six Nations international at Twickenham on Saturday (1445 GMT)



15 Anthony Watson, 14 Jonny May, 13 Jonathan Joseph,12 Ben Te'O, 11 Elliot Daly; 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Richard Wigglesworth; 8 Sam Simmonds, 7 James Haskell, 6 Chris Robshaw; 5 George Kruis, 4 Maro Itoje; 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Dylan Hartley (captain), 1 Mako Vunipola

Substitutes: 16 Jamie George, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Dan Cole, 19 Joe Launchbury, 20 Don Armand), 21 Danny Care 22 George Ford, 23 Mike Brown


Read more on:    ireland  |  england  |  six nations  |  eddie jones  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will win the 2018 Six Nations title?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.