Six Nations

Another SA-born player makes Scotland squad

2017-01-18 14:10
Cornell du Preez (Getty)

Cape Town - Another South African-born player has forced his way into Scotland's squad ahead of this year's Six Nations.

A 37-man squad was announced on Wednesday and it includes 25-year-old flank Cornell du Preez, who is uncapped at Test level. 

Du Preez plays his rugby for Edinburgh, but was born in Port Elizabeth. 

He was a member of the SA Under-20 side in 2011 IRB Junior World Championships in Italy and went on to represent the Kings in Super Rugby in 2013, but he was off to Scotland at the end of that season and has been with Edinburgh ever since. 

Du Preez is a popular figure in the capital, scoring 14 tries in 71 appearances. He became eligible to represent Scotland last year after completing three years of residency in the country.

"It's a well-balanced and exciting group that have played a lot of rugby together, know each other well and are ambitious to do well in a Scotland jersey," said Scotland coach Vern Cotter.

"I think if we get our mind-set right we can be competitive and push for wins in every game in this campaign."

There are three other South African-born players in the squad. 

Props Allan Dell and WP Nel, while former Lions No 8 Josh Strauss is also set to feature. 

There is also room in the squad once again for Stormers centre Huw Jones. 

Scotland open their Six Nations campaign when they host Ireland on February 4. 

Scotland Six Nations squad:


Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors), Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby), Allan Dell (Edinburgh Rugby), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Willem Nel (Edinburgh Rugby), Gordon Reid (Glasgow Warriors), Jon Welsh (Newcastle Falcons), Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Richie Gray (Toulouse), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby), John Barclay (Scarlets), Cornell Du Preez (Edinburgh Rugby), John Hardie (Edinburgh Rugby), Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Josh Strauss (Glasgow Warriors), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors)


Greig Laidlaw (Gloucester, captain), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors), Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Weir (Edinburgh Rugby), Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Huw Jones (Stormers), Matt Scott (Gloucester), Duncan Taylor (Saracens), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby), Sean Maitland (Saracens), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Tim Visser (Harlequins)

Read more on:    scotland  |  six nations  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will win the 2018 Six Nations title?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.