Six Nations

Scotland make two changes for finale

2015-03-19 14:59
Vern Cotter (AFP)

Edinburgh - Scotland's New Zealander coach Vern Cotter has made two changes to his pack on Thursday ahead of Saturday's Six Nations finale against champions Ireland at Murrayfield.

Prop Ryan Grant, making his first start of the championship, and flanker Adam Ashe move up from the bench to replace Alasdair Dickinson and Rob Harley respectively.

Both Dickinson and Harley drop to the bench where the only other change sees wing Tim Visser replace back row forward Johnnie Beattie as Cotter reverts to a selection of five forwards and three backs amongst his replacements instead of the six-two split he favoured last week against England at Twickenham.

Tight-head Euan Murray will make history by overtaking Allan Jacobsen's record for a prop with his 66th Scotland appearance.

Scotland have lost all four games in this season's tournament so far while Ireland are looking for a victory to help them retain the title.

England are currently top of the standings, but lead Ireland and Wales only on points difference, with the final round of matches set to determine the champions.

Despite Scotland's failure to win so far, Cotter says it was important to maintain consistency in a group whose performances have suggested they should have got more out of the tournament.

"There is a strong culture in this group. Players want to do well and set the standards high," said Cotter.

"We've played with a huge amount of spirit and courage, are putting teams under pressure and are scoring tries, which is encouraging, but we want to go one better this Saturday against Ireland, last year's champions.

"Both ourselves and Ireland are hugely motivated for this game.

"Make no mistake, they are coming to Edinburgh believing they can win the title, while we will be going out there desperate to throw everything at our last Championship match to win the game and repay the support of our fans."


Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Dougie Fife, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw (captain), 8 David Denton, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Adam Ashe, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Jim Hamilton, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant

Substitutes: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Alasdair Dickinson, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 Robert Harley, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 Greig Tonks, 23 Tim Visser

Ireland: TBA

Read more on:    scotland  |  six nations  |  vern cotter  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will win the 2018 Six Nations title?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.