Ireland unchanged for France

2012-02-29 16:45

Dublin - Ireland coach Declan Kidney named an unchanged side Wednesday for the re-arranged Six Nations international against France in Paris on Sunday.

Despite several minor injuries, Kidney stuck with the same side that thrashed Italy 42-10 at Dublin's Lansdowne Road last weekend.

Backs Rob Kearney and Gordon D'Arcy, as well as forwards Sean O'Brien and Cian Healy have all been named in the starting XV having recovered from various knocks suffered against Italy.

Veteran outside-half Ronan O'Gara, who last week became Ireland's most capped player as well as the country's highest points scorer, is again on the bench with Jonathan Sexton starting at No 10.

Ireland captain Paul O'Connell will win his 85th cap this weekend.

Victory over Italy gave Ireland a record of one win from two Six Nations matches this term after a last-gasp 23-21 opening loss at home to Wales

The France-Ireland match had originally been scheduled for February 11 but it was called off by the referee minutes before the night-time kick-off due to freezing conditions and the dangerous state of the Stade de France pitch.

World Cup finalists France have won both their games so far in this year's tournament, against Italy and Scotland.

Earlier on Wednesday, France coach Philippe Saint-Andre made two changes to the team that beat Scotland 23-17 at Murrayfield last weekend.

Full-back Clement Poitrenaud replaced the injured Maxime Medard and flanker Julien Bonnaire was recalled after Louis Picamoles struggled in the lineout against the Scots.

Ireland team to play France in a Six Nations international at the Stade de France on Sunday, March 4 (1500GMT kick-off):


15 Clement Poitrenaud, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Aurelien Rougerie, 12 Wesley Fofana, 11 Julien Malzieu, 10 François Trinh-Duc, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Imanol Harinordoquy, 7 Julien Bonnaire, 6 Thierry Dusautoir (captain), 5 Yoann Maestri, 4 Pascal Pape, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 1 Jean-Baptiste Poux.

Substitutes: 16 William Servat, 17 Vincent Debaty, 18 Lionel Nallet, 19 Louis Picamoles, 20 Julien Dupuy, 21 Lionel Beauxis, 22 Maxime Mermoz.

Ireland: 15 Rob Kearney 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Keith Earls, 12 Gordon D'Arcy, 11 Andrew Trimble, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Stephen Ferris, 5 Paul O'Connell (Captain), 4 Donncha O'Callaghan, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy

Subsititutes: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Tom Court, 18 Donnacha Ryan, 19 Peter O'Mahony, 20 Eoin Reddan, 21 Ronan O'Gara, 22 Fergus McFadden