Six Nations

Ireland bring in Fitzgerald

2015-03-19 17:20
Luke Fitzgerald (Getty Images)

Dublin - Ireland winger Luke Fitzgerald will start a Test match for the first time since 2011 on Saturday when the Six Nations champions travel to Scotland looking for a big win to put the pressure on leaders England.

After Wales scuppered Ireland's Grand Slam hopes by ending their unbeaten run last week, Joe Schmidt's men narrowly fell behind England in the standings with a points difference of plus 33 compared to England's plus 37.

With England up against France in the last match of the 'Super Saturday' finale, Ireland want to set their rivals a sizable target and also recalled fit again prop Cian Healy in the only other change to the team that started in Cardiff.

Fitzgerald, an ever present in the Grand Slam winning side of 2009, went on to be a test match starter for the British and Irish Lions later that year at the age of 21 but has been beset by injury in recent years.

He last started for Ireland in a World Cup warm up game almost four years ago and last featured in a test match in Ireland's narrow defeat to New Zealand in November 2013.

However Fitzgerald has started every major match for Leinster since October last year and replaces Munster winger Simon Zebo who drops out of the match day squad.



15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Dougie Fife, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw (captain), 8 David Denton, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Adam Ashe, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Jim Hamilton, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant

Substitutes: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Alasdair Dickinson, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 Robert Harley, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 Greig Tonks, 23 Tim Visser


15 Rob Kearney, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Jared Payne, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 Luke Fitzgerald, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7-Sean O'Brien, 6 Peter O'Mahony, 5 Paul O'Connell (captain), 4 Devin Toner, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy.

Substitutes: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Martin Moore, 19 Iain Henderson, 20 Jordi Murphy, 21 Eoin Reddan, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Felix Jones.

Read more on:    ireland  |  six nations  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk


Who will win the 2017 Six Nations title?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.