Six Nations

Hogg to start for Scotland

2014-01-29 17:01
Stuart Hogg (Getty Images)

London - Stuart Hogg was restored to the Scotland line-up in one of four changes announced by coach Scott Johnson on Wednesday for the Six Nations opener against Ireland in Dublin on Sunday.

Full-back Hogg, a British and Irish Lion, missed the November series with a wrist injury but was installed in the No 15 jersey with Sean Maitland, who played there in Scotland's 21-15 defeat by Australia last time out, moving across to the right wing.

Other changes saw Alex Dunbar come in at centre for Nick de Luca, Ryan Wilson selected at blindside flanker instead of Johnnie Beattie, on the bench despite a virus, and Tim Swinson replacing Grant Gilchrist in the second row.

In the backs, fly-half Duncan Weir was preferred to Glasgow rival Ruaridh Jackson, who didn't even make it into the matchday 23.

Meanwhile Scotland captain Kelly Brown had his place at openside flanker confirmed by Johnson after seeing off a challenge to his place from Chris Fusaro.

For Dunbar, Wilson, Swinson and inside centre Duncan Taylor it is their first start in the Championship.

Jonhson revealed selection had been difficult, saying in a Scottish Rugby Union statement: "The forwards especially were a hard pick but we're happy.

"We believe we've got a good combination to go in against formidable opposition."

Behind the scrum, Johnson had high hopes for a back three featuring the dynamic Hogg, New Zealand-born Maitland and veteran left wing Sean Lamont, who is set to win his 83rd cap just a fortnight after celebrating his 33rd birthday.

We can go the length with that back three," said the Australian coach.

"For a seasoned campaigner Sean Lamont has some legs still," the Australian added.

"His form over the last 24 months for us has been outstanding, especially his work off the ball.

"Like something in my wine cabinet he's certainly getting better with age."

Scotland, who finished an encouraging third in last season's Six Nations, will be looking to follow up their 12-8 win over the Irish at Murrayfield, when scrum-half Greig Laidlaw kicked all their points.

However, the Scots haven't won their first match in the Championship since beating France 20-16 in Edinburgh in 2006.

Kick-off for Sunday's match at Lansdowne Road is scheduled for 17:00.





15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Alex Dunbar, 12 Duncan Taylor, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 David Denton, 7 Kelly Brown (captain), 6 Ryan Wilson, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Moray Low, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant

Substitutes: 16 Pat MacArthur, 17 Alasdair Dickinson, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Richie Gray, 20 Johnnie Beattie, 21 Chris Cusiter, 22 Matt Scott, 23 Max Evans

Read more on:    six nations  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk


Who will win the 2017 Six Nations title?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.