Sharks name 4 leaders

2015-01-30 13:00
Patrick Lambie (Gallo Images)

Durban - The Cell C Sharks on Friday announced the appointment of their leadership group for this year’s Super Rugby competition.

With a strong focus on player management and rotation, it was important to select a core leadership group, which consists of four players who will lead the squad during the Super Rugby campaign.

Bismarck du Plessis, who led the Sharks in the 2014 campaign, has been named squad captain. Often described as the best hooker in world rugby, he boasts an impressive 120 Super Rugby caps for the Sharks and has been a standout performer for the team over the years.

Now into his 11th campaign, he brings a wealth of experience at Super Rugby level and a Rugby World Cup winners’ medal (2007) together with 70 caps at Springbok level.

He will be ably supported by flyhalf Patrick Lambie who is a proven match winner and natural leader in his own right. He too has Rugby World Cup experience, being a key member of the 2011 Springbok squad and has accumulated an impressive 40 Test caps since making his debut in 2010, at just 20 years of age. He brings calmness and composure to the team environment and is certainly an asset to the team.

Last year’s Currie Cup captain, Tera Mtembu, who impressed in his first campaign in a leadership role, also forms part of the group. He has displayed a natural flair for the role and is a player who leads by example. His steady rise through the ranks will certainly motivate the younger players in the group to aim for bigger honours.

Completing the quartet is the colossal Frans Steyn, who, at just 27 years of age, is about to embark on his 10th year of professional rugby, a career that has taken him to Durban, France, Japan and back to Durban, through two Rugby World Cups and 53 Test matches for the Springboks.
Like the other three players in the core leadership group, he commands respect from both team-mates and opposition alike.

Commenting on his decision, the Sharks Director of Rugby, Gary Gold said: “The way the modern game is going it is not about individuals but a group of leaders who share ideas and work together as a team in order to achieve the desired results.

“These four players have proven their leadership ability and commitment to the Sharks over the years and they will be able to rally the group and get the best out of their team-mates.”


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.