Women's Sevens circuit adds a sixth stop

2018-10-03 15:20
Springbok Women's Sevens (File)

Paris - The women's Sevens circuit will regain a tournament in the upcoming season, which carries Olympic places as an incentive, World Rugby announced on Wednesday.

The 2018/19 women's competition will begin on October 20-21 with a new stop in Glendale, Colorado.

This means there will again be six events after the event in Clermont-Ferrand dropped off the calendar last season.

The men's circuit will again offer 10 events.

The women and men will overlap at the events in Dubai, Sydney and Paris.

When both competitions end in Paris on May 31-June 2, the top four teams in both will earn spots in the Tokyo Olympics in 2020.

Women's tournaments:


October 20-21: Glendale (USA)

November 29-30: Dubai


February 1-3: Sydney

April 20-21: Kitakyushu (Japan)

May 11-12: Langford (Canada)

May-2 June 31: Paris

Men's tournaments:


November 30-December 1: Dubai

December 8-9: Cape Town


January 26-27: Hamilton

February 2-3: Sydney

March 1-3: Las Vegas

March 9-10: Vancouver

April 5-7: Hong Kong

April 13-14: Singapore

May 25-26: London

June 1-2: Paris

Read more on:    world rugby  |  sevens  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.