Tricky pool for Blitzboks at London Sevens

2017-05-15 09:00
Neil Powell (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The pools and schedule for this weekend’s final round of the 2016/17 World Rugby Sevens Series have been announced.

South Africa - series winners and champions in Paris - are top seeds in a tricky Pool A alongside USA, Wales and Kenya.

Pool B is topped by last year's London champions, Scotland, who will face France, Argentina and Russia on day one at Twickenham.

In Pool C, New Zealand will play Fiji, Canada and Japan while in Pool D, hosts England will play Samoa, Australia and Spain.

Following their win at the Paris Sevens, the Blitzboks have an unassailable lead in the 2016/17 World Rugby Sevens Series standings.

They will be crowned champions this weekend when the series concludes with the London Sevens at Twickenham.


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.