Senatla, Smith crack nod for Dream Team

2017-01-30 08:55

Cape Town - Following the Springbok Sevens side’s win at the Wellington Sevens, two Blitzboks were included in the Dream Team for the event.

The South Africans romped to the title with a comprehensive 26-5 win over Fiji in Sunday’s Cup final.

Seabelo Senatla and Kwagga Smith cracked the nod for the Dream Team following the event.

Senatla, who was also named Player of the Final, scored his 180th career try to move past Fabian Juries (179) as the leading South African try-scorer of all time.

Despite their defeat in the showpiece match, three Fijians - Jasa Veremalua, Jerry Tuwai and Joeli Lutumailagi - were picked for the Dream Team. The others included were Scotland’s James Fleming and Canada’s Adam Zaruba.

South Africa’s triumph, their second in the current 2016/17 series, gave them a 12 point lead on the overall log standings.

They started the Wellington tournament two points ahead of England and now lead Fiji, who moved into second, by 12 points.

Hostilities now shift to Sydney next weekend where the Blitzboks have been paired in Pool A alongside England, Kenya and Japan.



Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.