Recent history on Blitzboks' side at Cape Town Sevens

2018-12-05 12:29
Cape Town Sevens logo (Supplied)

Cape Town - Recent history suggests that the Blitzboks have a good chance of getting the job done at this weekend's Cape Town Sevens.

READ: Blitzboks ecstatic to wear jersey in honour of Madiba

This is the fourth year in a row that the South African leg of the World Sevens Series will be held at Cape Town Stadium, with the Blitzboks having contested 2 of the last 3 finals. 

The Blitzboks won the first edition of the Cape Town Sevens in 2015, finished second in 2016 and third in 2017. 

Prior to that, the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium hosted four straight tournaments between 2011 and 2014.

Of those, the Blitzboks won 2 - 2013 and 2014 - and finished as runners-ups in another (2011). 

In total, South Africa has hosted 19 Sevens tournaments dating back to the Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch in the 1999/2000 season. 

While they struggled in the early years, the South African side got a win on home soil for the first time in 2008 when they beat New Zealand in the final at Outeniqua Park in George. 

The Blitzboks may have only won 4 out of 19 tournaments on home soil, but the fact that they have won 3 of the last 5 suggests that there is reason to be optimistic. 

The All Blacks boast an impressive Sevens record in the country having won 10 of the 19 tournaments to date and are the defending champions heading into the weekend.

They are also coming off victory in Dubai last weekend in the opening leg of this season's calendar.

To add further spice to the mix, the Blitzboks and All Blacks have both been drawn in Pool A for this weekend and will face off in Saturday's headline match at 19:56.

Read more on:    blitzboks  |  cape town sevens  |  cape town  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.