No Blitzboks in Hamilton Dream Team

2020-01-27 07:19

Cape Town - It was no surprise that no Springbok Sevens players were included in the Dream Team named for the past weekend's Hamilton Sevens.

Register your interest for the British & Irish Lions tickets in South Africa 2021

The Blitzboks entered the event as joint-leaders with New Zealand but slumped to a disappointing 10th position as the All Blacks Sevens claimed the title on home soil.

Pool losses to England (21-19) and Kenya (36-14) left the South Africans in the unfamiliar position of taking on usual title rivals Fiji in the 9th/10th place playoff. 

They lost that too, going down 12-5 to bring the curtain down on a horror weekend in New Zealand.

The customary Dream Team named following the tournament included three New Zealanders - Scott Curry, Regan Ware and Tim Mikkelson.

France, who lost 27-5 in the final to New Zealand, have two players - Tavite Veredamu and Jonathan Laugel - while the rest of the team comprises Australia's Maurice Longbottom and England's Ollie Lindsay-Hague.

The Blitzboks are now level with France in second position on the overall World Rugby Sevens Series standings with 48 points, 15 behind leaders New Zealand.

The series now shifts to Sydney this weekend.

- Compiled by Herman Mostert


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.