No Blitzboks in Dubai Dream Team

2018-12-03 10:34

Cape Town - No South Africans cracked the nod for the Dream Team named after this past weekend’s Dubai Sevens, the opening event on the 2018/19 World Rugby Sevens Series calendar.

England - who finished third after beating Australia 15-14 in the Bronze final - had three players picked in the Dream Team: Dan Norton, Tom Mitchell and Ethan Waddleton.

Australia had two players selected in Maurice Longbottom and John Porch, while the rest of the Dream Team comprises Andrew Knewstubb from New Zealand and Marcos Moroni from Argentina.

The All Blacks won the tournament after beating USA 21-5 in the final, while the Blitzboks finished sixth after losing 24-19 to Fiji in the playoff for 5th place.

Read more on:    world rugby sevens series  |  sevens  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.