No Blitzboks in Dubai Dream Team

2015-12-07 07:10
Fiji (AP)

Cape Town - Champions Fiji dominate the Dream Team announced for the Dubai Sevens tournament, while no South Africans made the cut.

Fiji beat England 28-17 in the Cup Final on Saturday to claim the first title of the 2015/16 World Rugby Sevens Series.

The Blitzboks were eliminated from the Cup competition when they lost 21-19 to the USA in the quarter-finals.

The South Africans redeemed themselves when they won the Plate competition, beating Australia 19-14 in the final following a Francois Hougaard try in extra time.

Blitzbok duo Seabelo Senatla and Justin Geduld scored seven and five tries respectively but it was not enough to see them make the Dream Team in Dubai.

Not surprisingly, three Fijians - Pio Tuwai, Vatemo Ravouvou and Jerry Tuwai - made the Dubai Dream Team.

Two Englishman - Phil Burgess and Tom Mitchell - were included, while American speedster Perry Baker and New Zealand's Sam Dickson also made the team.

The series now moves to Cape Town, where the Blitzboks are paired in the same pool as Dubai runners-up England, Kenya and Zimbabwe.

The Cape Town Sevens draw for Saturday, December 12:

Pool A: Fiji, Argentina, Scotland, Russia

Pool B: England, South Africa, Kenya, Zimbabwe

Pool C: USA, Australia, Wales, Portugal

Pool D: New Zealand, Samoa, France, Canada


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.