New Zealand crowned Cape Town Sevens champions

2017-12-10 20:13
Vilimoni Koroi (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - New Zealand have won the Cape Town Sevens, beating Argentina 38-14 in the final played at Cape Town Stadium on Sunday evening. 

WATCH: Fans leave CT Stadium after Blitzboks loss

New Zealand quickly raced into a 14-0 lead in 4th minute with converted tries by Joe Ravouvou and Vilimoni Koroi. 

Argentina kept themselves in the contest with a converted try on the stroke of half-time from Lautaro Bazan Velez as the teams entered the break at 14-7. 

The second half belonged to New Zealand, however, as further tries followed from captain, Tim Mikkelson and Regan Ware (2) saw them race into a massive lead. 

Argentina scored a consolation try through Luciano Gonzalez but New Zealand put the match beyond doubt with a final score from Sione Molia.


New Zealand

Tries: Joe Ravouvou, Vilimoni Koroi, Tim Mikkelson, Regan Ware (2), Sione Molia

Conversions: Andrew Knewstubb (3), Isaac Tamaki


Tries: Lautaro Bazan Velez, Luciano Gonzalez

Conversions: Lautaro Bazan Velez (2)

Read more on:    argentina  |  new zealand  |  cape town sevens  |  sevens  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.