Scintillating Blitzboks victorious in Dubai

2017-12-02 17:31
Seabelo Senatla (Getty)

Cape Town - The Blitzboks have won the Dubai Sevens for the second year running, beating New Zealand in a pulsating final. 

After a yellow card in the first minute to New Zealand's Joseava Rovouvou, the Blitzboks took full advantage of the extra man, running in three tries in as many minutes through Philip Snyman, Seabelo Senatla and Kwagga Smith with Branco du Preez adding two conversions for a 19-0 lead at half-time.

The second half saw Rosko Specman sent to the bin in the first minute of the second half and New Zealand immediately forced their way back into the match with two tries in two minutes through Andrew Knewstubb and captain, Scott Curry, one of which was converted to take the score to 19-12.

Tim Agaba put the match beyond doubt in the final minute when he crashed over to secure victory for the Blitzboks in the first leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series.

Next week sees the teams come to Cape Town with England looking to defend their crown in the Mother City.



Tries: Snyman, Senatla, Smith, Agaba

Conversions: Du Preez (2)

New Zealand

Tries: Knewstubb, Curry

Conversion: Knewstubb

Read more on:    blitzboks  |  sevens  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.