Kings duo sign sevens deals

2015-11-27 09:12
Tim Agaba (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Frankie Horne will captain the SARU Sevens Academy team at the Dubai International tournament, which also includes two new sevens recruits in Tim Agaba and Siviwe Soyizwapi, formerly of the cash-strapped EP Kings.

Agaba and Soyizwapi this week became the latest sevens recruits when they each agreed to terms with SARU to play sevens for the next two years.

Agaba is a talented No 8 while speedster Soyizwapi has already played for the Academy side in Singapore in September.

SARU on Friday announced the 12-man squad for the Dubai tournament, which takes place on December 4 and 5 and will run concurrently with the opening round of the new World Rugby Sevens Series.

Apart from Horne, the academy side - known as the Samurai Internationals - also includes Springbok Sevens internationals Ruhan Nel, Rosco Speckman and Stephan Dippenaar.

Together with Blitzbok veteran Horne, they will form the nucleus of a strong line-up which will aim for their third tournament win of the new season. The Academy side triumphed earlier in 2015, in August and September, in Windhoek and Singapore respectively.

Marius Schoeman, team manager of the SARU Academy side, said he was looking forward to seeing the two former EP Kings players in action in the same sevens outfit.

“They are talented players and will find themselves amongst very experienced company in Dubai, where the opposition will also be very tough,” said Schoeman, a former stalwart of the Springbok Sevens team.

Schoeman added that Horne and the rest of the senior players will play a mentoring role in the side.

“Frankie has got vast experience of playing on the World Series circuit and he and the other Springbok Sevens players will give guidance to the promising youngsters,” said Schoeman.

The team will travel to Dubai on Sunday afternoon.

The Samurai International (SARU Sevens Academy) to play in the Dubai International Tournament is (SARU contracted, unless indicated):

1. Tim Agaba

2. Sandile Ngcobo

3. Frankie Horne (captain)

4. Dylan Sage 

5, Dewald Human

6. Rosko Specman 

7. Sphamandla Ngcobo 

8. Siviwe Soyizwapi

9. Joel Booysen  (Western Province)

10. Ruhan Nel

11. Sibahle Maxwane

12. Stephan Dippenaar

Read more on:    tim agaba  |  frankie horne  |  sevens  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.