It's bronze for the Blitzboks in Paris

2019-06-02 18:33
Muller du Plessis (Twitter)
Muller du Plessis (Twitter)

Cape Town - The Blitzboks have won the bronze final at the Paris Sevens, downing the United States 24-7.

United States speedster Perry Baker opened the scoring in the third minute with a converted try.

The Blitzboks hit back twice through tries by Muller du Plessis and Ryan Oosthuizen, one of which was converted Dewald Human to lead 12-7 at half-time.

South Africa extended that lead to 17-7 in the fourth minute of the second half thanks to a converted try from Philip Snyman after a brilliant break by Branco du Preez. 

Du Plessis then scored his second with a few seconds to go to put the match beyond doubt. 

Earlier in the day, Fiji's victory over the United States in their semi-final encounter ensured that they were crowned World Sevens Series champions for 2018/19. 

In their semi-final, the Blitzboks were thoroughly outplayed in their 33-7 loss to New Zealand. 

Meanwhile, Olympic champions Fiji captured their third World Rugby Sevens Series title in five years as they won the season-ending tournament in Paris.

Fiji defeated series runners-up the United States 33-14 in the semi-finals to ensure they would finish as champions. They celebrated their triumph in style by beating New Zealand 35-24 in the final.

It was a fifth victory this season for the Fijians in the 10-leg competition, and gave them a fourth overall title, adding to wins in 2006, 2015 and 2016.

Fiji captain Josua Vakurunabili said he told his team-mates to "make people back home and your family proud".

"In the huddle I said to the boys, 'If you want to be a history maker don't let this moment pass you,'" he said.

Fiji had finished second a year ago after slipping up in the final round at the Stade Jean-Bouin in Paris, allowing South Africa to pip them to the title.

They ensured there was no repeat in the sweltering conditions in the French capital, sweeping the hosts aside 24-5 in the quarter-finals to underline their intent at the start of the final day.

The top four teams in the series standings - Fiji, USA, New Zealand and South Africa - qualify automatically for next year's Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Japan were relegated from the circuit after finishing 15th overall, as Wales held on to the final place among the elite top 14 nations.


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.