Habana overlooked for Olympic squad

2016-07-14 11:39
Neil Powell (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Springbok Sevens squad for the Rio Olympic Games was announced on Thursday.

Coach Neil Powell announced a 12-man squad which will be led by regular skipper Kyle Brown.

Regular fifteen-a-side players Juan de Jongh and Cheslin Kolbe were included, but there were no spots for Springboks Bryan Habana and Francois Hougaard, who both featured on the sevens circuit this past season.

Hougaard, though, will be a travelling substitute, along with Chris Dry.

The Blitzboks are seeded second for the Olympic Sevens rugby competition, set to run from August 6-11.

They will contend Group B at the tournament, which consists of 12 teams across three pools.

Each team plays the three other nations in their pool over the first three match sessions with three points for a win, two for a draw and one for a loss.

The best eight teams will then proceed to the first round of knock-out matches, the quarter finals.

Those will be the three teams who top their pool, along with the three teams placed second in each pool and also the two best third-placed teams, based on competition points and then points difference.

Springbok Sevens Olympic squad:

Cecil Afrika, Tim Agaba, Kyle Brown, Juan de Jongh, Justin Geduld, Werner Kok, Cheslin Kolbe, Dylan Sage, Seabelo Senatla, Kwagga Smith, Philip Snyman, Rosko Specman

The draw for the quarter-finals will then be determined as follows:

QF 1 - Winner Pool A v 2nd best 3rd place
QF 2 - Winner Pool B v best 3rd place
QF 3 - Winner Pool C v Runner Up Pool A
QF 4 - Runner Up Pool B v Runner Up Pool C

The draw for the semi-finals will be determined as follows:

SF 1 - Winner QF1 v Winner QF4
SF 2 - Winner QF2 v Winner QF3

Rio Olympics Sevens seedings:

1. Fiji

2. South Africa

3. New Zealand

4. Great Britain

Rio Olympics Sevens pools:

Pool A - Fiji, USA, Argentina, Brazil

Pool B - South Africa, Australia, France, Spain

Pool C - New Zealand, Great Britain, Kenya, Japan

It is the first time in 92 years that rugby will form part of the Olympics.

The current gold medal holders are the United States.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.