Fiji, USA dominate NZ Sevens Dream Team

2019-01-28 08:33

Cape Town - Fiji and the USA, who contested the New Zealand Sevens final, dominate the Dream Team named after the event.

Fiji thumped the USA 38-0 in the Cup final in Hamilton to win their second successive title in the 2018/19 World Rugby Sevens Series.

Four Fijians - Kalione Nasoko, Meli Derenalagi, Vilimoni Botitu and Aminiasi Tuimaba - were picked in the Dream Team, while the rest of the team featured three Americans, Ben Pinkelman, Carlis Isles and Folau Niua.

The Blitzboks and All Blacks Sevens contested the Bronze final - which was won 29-7 by the Kiwis - but none of their players could crack a nod in the Dream Team.

The next event in the series takes place in Sydney this weekend (February 2-3).

Pools for Sydney:

A: Fiji, Samoa, England, Japan

B: USA, Canada, Kenya, France

C: New Zealand, Scotland, Spain, Wales

D: South Africa, Australia, Argentina, Tonga

Read more on:    world rugby sevens series  |  sevens  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.