Du Plessis handed Blitzboks debut in Las Vegas

2018-03-02 15:07
Muller du Plessis (Supplied)

Cape Town - Muller du Plessis will become Blitzbok No 168 this weekend when he takes to the field for the Springbok Sevens in the USA Sevens, to be played at the Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas.

Springbok Sevens coach Neil Powell included the 19-year-old in the final 12-man playing squad for the tournament, the fifth of the World Rugby Sevens Series, where Du Plessis will realise his dream to represent his country at this level.

Powell said it was an exciting time for the team. They will welcome Du Plessis into the fray and will also take to the field with two new sponsors on board, after Castle Free and FNB confirmed their support to the team.

"We are very thankful and hope to return that investment with a good performance," said Powell.

"We have a number of young players in the squad and we have a very competitive pool, but we will do our best. They need to go out and play as this is the only way they will learn and develop."

The Blitzboks face Wales (03:34 SA time) and Canada (06:35 SA time) early Saturday morning in Pool B.

"We will come up against two very different opponents on the first day," said Powell.

"Wales are very elusive and like to throw the ball around, while the Canadians are very direct and physical. Hopefully we can give the younger players proper game time this weekend, but we need to start well to make that possible."

The Springbok Sevens team for the HSBC USA Sevens:

1. Ryan Oosthuizen (4 tournaments, 12 matches, 0 points)
2. Philip Snyman (captain – 50 tournaments, 225 matches, 321 points, 58 tries)
3. Dylan Sage (19 tournaments, 104 matches, 110 points, 22 tries)
4. Zain Davids (7 tournaments, 25 matches, 10 points, 2 tries)
5. Werner Kok (33 tournaments, 165 matches, 370 points, 74 tries)
6. Kyle Brown (62 tournaments, 312 matches, 410 points, 82 tries)
7. Branco du Preez (58 tournaments, 291 matches, 1107 points, 81 tries)
8. Muller du Plessis (uncapped)
9. Selvyn Davids (1 tournament, 5 matches, 2 points)
10. Cecil Afrika (57 tournaments, 297 matches, 1368 points, 165 tries)
11. Siviwe Soyizwapi (13 tournaments, 59 matches, 180 points, 36 tries)
12. Stedman Gans (6 tournaments, 23 matches, 10 points, 2 tries)

13. Ruhan Nel (24 tournaments, 127 matches, 217 points, 43 tries)*

*Replacement Player


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.