Blitzboks wary of Japan banana peel

2017-01-27 14:45
Neil Powell (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Springbok Sevens coach Neil Powell will be highlighting the importance of consistency in performance and some early rhythm for the Blitzboks at the Wellington Sevens on Saturday.

South Africa face Japan, Australia and Fiji in a very demanding Pool B at the third tournament of the World Rugby Sevens Series and Powell realises the importance of starting well when the team opens their campaign against Japan.

“Japan showed at the Olympics that they can deliver on the big day when they beat New Zealand, so we dare not underestimate them,” said Powell.

“Australia finished fourth and Fiji won the World Series last year, so it will not be an easy day out there if we are not on song from the first match.

“We need to start well against Japan to get the rhythm we need in order to go all the way. There is no use of us talking about a possible final and winning the cup if we trip up against Japan,” the coach warned.

The Blitzboks lead the overall standings after the opening two tournaments in Dubai and Cape Town and Powell realises the importance of another good showing in Wellington.

“We have started well by winning in Dubai and making the final in Cape Town, but we need to get back to that form after the break we had. For that reason, we need to start well when we play Japan,” said Powell, who played in 32 tournaments for the Blitzboks and was a member of the last South African team to win this tournament, way back in 2002.

“I was a player, Paul Treu was the captain and Chester Williams was the coach. That was a long time ago,” he smiled.

The Springbok Sevens play Japan at 01:09, Australia at 04:33 and Fiji at 08:18 (all SA times).

The Springbok Sevens team for Wellington (with caps and career points):

1. Chris Dry (54, 380)
2. Philip Snyman (captain; 39, 236)
3. Dylan Sage (9, 45)
4. Kwagga Smith (26, 255)
5. Werner Kok (21, 250)
6. Siviwe Soyizwapi (4, 30)
7. Branco du Preez (47, 922)
8. Rosko Specman (15, 196)
9. Justin Geduld (27, 594)
10. Zain Davids (on debut)
11. Seabelo Senatla (31, 860)
12. Ruhan Nel (13, 125)
13. Sandile Ngcobo (2, 10)*

* Replacement player


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.