Blitzboks too good for Canada in Singapore

2019-04-13 10:05
Kurt-Lee Arendse
Kurt-Lee Arendse (Getty Images)

Cape Town - The Blitzboks outclassed Canada in their second Pool A encounter of the Singapore Sevens at the National Stadium on Saturday.

Follow LIVE: Singapore Sevens

The Blitzboks won 36-0 after leading 10-0 at half-time.

Neil Powell's men scored six tries through Justin Geduld, Ryan Oosthuizen, skipper Siviwe Soyizwapi, Sakoyisa Makata and a brace by Kurt-Lee Arendse

Meanwhile, a solid South African defence prevented Canada from bothering the scoreboard.

Earlier in the day, the Blitzboks defeated Scotland 36-10 in their opening Pool A encounter.  

The Blitzboks will play their final Pool A fixture against Fiji (13:28 SA time).


South Africa

Tries: Justin Geduld, Ryan Oosthuizen, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Kurt-Lee Arendse (2), Sakoyisa Makata

Conversions: Branco du Preez, Selvyn Davids (2)

Blitzboks squad:

1. Ryan Oosthuizen (14 tournaments, 66 matches, 70 points, 14 tries)

2. Sako Makata (3 tournaments, 12 matches, 0 points) 

3. Impi Visser (7 tournaments, 39 matches, 35 points, seven tries)

4. Chris Dry (67 tournaments; 336 matches, 465 points, 93 tries) 

5. Werner Kok (44 tournaments, 223 matches, 500 points, 100 tries)

6. Kurt-Lee Arendse (2 tournaments, 6 matches, 5 points)

7. Branco du Preez (68 tournaments, 344 matches, 1238 points; 90 tries, 391 conversions, 1 penalty, 1 drop goal)

8. Selvyn Davids (12 tournaments, 58 matches, 250 points, 28 tries, 55 conversions)

9. Justin Geduld (43 tournaments; 222 matches, 916 points - 97 tries, 214 conversions, 1 penalty)

10. Stedman Gans (16 tournaments, 74 matches, 110 points, 22 tries)

11. Siviwe Soyizwapi (captain; 25 tournaments, 129 matches, 395 points, 79 tries)

12. Angelo Davids (1 tournament, 5 matches, 0 points)

13. James Murphy (3 tournaments, 12 matches, 0 points) – travelling reserve


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.