Blitzboks to face USA, Scotland in Dubai

2016-09-22 17:17
Neil Powell (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The draw for the first round of the 2016/17 World Rugby Sevens Series in Dubai has been made, with Series holders Fiji pooled alongside Argentina.

Also joining the duo in Pool A will be Wales and Canada with the competition taking place on Friday, December 2 and Saturday, December 3.

Pool B sees South Africa, USA, Scotland and a to-be-confirmed team collide, while in Pool C New Zealand, England, Samoa and Russia will face off.

Australia, Kenya, France and Japan are in Pool D as the 16 competing sides look to build on the platform Rio's Olympic Games has given.

Dubai 7s pools:

Pool A: Fiji, Argentina, Wales, Canada
Pool B: South Africa, USA, Scotland, TBC
Pool C: New Zealand, England, Samoa, Russia
Pool D: Australia, Kenya, France, Japan

The 2016-17 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series schedule:

Dubai: 2-3 December
Cape Town: 10-11 December
Wellington: 28-29 January
Sydney: 4-5 February
Las Vegas: 3-5 March
Vancouver: 11-12 March
Hong Kong: 7-9 April
Singapore: 15-16 April
Paris: 13-14May
London: 20-21May

Read more on:    world rugby sevens series  |  sevens  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.