Blitzboks to face New Zealand - in New Zealand

2015-12-14 08:50
Neil Powell (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - World Rugby has announced the pools for the third round of the World Rugby Sevens Series in Wellington, New Zealand on the weekend of January 30/31, 2016.

Wellington Sevens fixtures

The draw for the Wellington Sevens was made before the Cup final at the second round of the series in Cape Town, with winners South Africa heading Pool A at the Westpac Stadium after a 29-14 over Los Pumas in their home tournament.

Neil Powell's side will come face to face with hosts New Zealand, Scotland and Russia, while Cape Town runners-up Argentina compete against series leaders Fiji, Wales and the only non-core side in Wellington, Japan.

Having finished third in Cape Town with a last-minute try from Julien Candelon and a conversion from Terry Bouhraoua, France will play Mike Friday's USA, England and Samoa.

Benjamin Ayimba's Kenya complete the top four seeds and await Australia, Canada and Portugal.


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.