Blitzboks stunned by Fijian comeback in Hamilton final

2018-02-04 09:26
Kwagga Smith (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Fiji have beaten the Blitzboks in the Hamilton Sevens final, launching a stunning second half fightback to win 24-17

Fiji were on the back foot early in the first half with Josua Vakurunabili sent to the sin-bin in the 1st minute after a deliberate knock-down.

The Blitzboks made their extra man count in the 3rd minute, working space on the left to send Kwagga Smith over in the left-hand corner for an unconverted try and a 5-0 lead. 

Fiji hit back straight from the kick-off with brilliant long range effort that saw Alosio Naduva get over near the posts for a unconverted try to tie the scores up at 5-5 in the 4th minute. 

And the action continued at breakneck speed with Blitzboks captain, Kyle Brown next to score in the right-hand corner.

The try again was unconverted but the Blitzboks led 10-5. 

Poor tackling by Fiji saw the Blitzboks score as the hooter sounded for half-time with veteran Branco du Preez getting over near the uprights.

Afrika converted to give the Blitzboks a healthy 17-5 lead at the break. 

Fiji need to score first in the second half and they did after a brilliant overhead pass saw Naduva score his second try of the final.

Amenoni Nasilasila converted to cut South Africa's lead to just five points.

South Africa were then down a man as Du Preez was sent to the bin tackling for a Fijian player without the ball. 

Naduva sealed his hat-trick after some excellent defence following a Werner Kok break out from the South African line.

Fiji managed to turn the ball over and made their extra man count as they hit the lead 19-17 with two minutes to play.

The Islanders put the game beyond the Blitzboks with their fourth try from Eroni Sau to lead 24-17 with a few seconds to play.

Hamilton erupted at the final whistle having witnessed an incredible comeback in a pulsating final.

Results from the World Sevens Series fourth leg in Hamilton on Sunday:


Fiji 12 Samoa 10

New Zealand 19 England 12

Australia 33 Kenya 12

South Africa 22 Scotland 0


Fiji 14 New Zealand 12

South Africa 24 Australia 5

Bronze Medal playoff

Australia 8 New Zealand 7


Fiji 24 South Africa 17

Read more on:    blitzboks  |  sevens  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.