Blitzboks paired with hosts for Sydney Sevens

2019-01-28 06:57
Blitzboks coach Neil Powell. (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Springbok Sevens side received a tricky draw for this weekend's World Rugby Sevens Series event in Sydney.

The Blitzboks will play in Pool D alongside hosts Australia, Argentina and Tonga.

The South Africans finished fourth in this past weekend's event in Hamilton, New Zealand.

The Blitzboks lost 29-7 to high-flying Fiji in the Cup semi-finals and went down by the same scoreline to the All Blacks Sevens in the Bronze final.

South Africa nevertheless moved up on the log after the third of 10 tournaments in the 2018/19 World Rugby Sevens Series, a significant improvement as the top four teams will automatically qualify for the Rugby Sevens event at the Olympics in Japan in 2020.

Fiji and USA (57 points each) lead the pack, followed by New Zealand (54), South Africa (44), England (38) and Australia (35).

The Sydney Sevens is scheduled for February 2-3.

Pools for Sydney:

A: Fiji, Samoa, England, Japan

B: USA, Canada, Kenya, France

C: New Zealand, Scotland, Spain, Wales

D: South Africa, Australia, Argentina, Tonga


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.