Blitzboks into Cape Town Sevens final

2015-12-13 16:59
Rosco Speckman (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Blitzboks remain on course to defend their South African World Series Sevens title as they moved into the final of the Cape Town Sevens with a 21-12 victory over France. 

Once again, South Africa started off slowly, with an early turnover allowing France to score first through Virimi Vakatawa. 

A long period of Blitzbok possession finally ended with Juan de Jongh jinking his way over close to the poles followed in quick succession by a Rosco Specman touchdown as the hosts began to dominate the half. 

Juan de Jongh's defensive abilities were brought to the fore after Vakatawa burst away into open space, only for de Jongh to cut him down.

The Blitzboks were awarded a penalty from the resulting ruck which Specman took quickly, kicking into space in behind the French defence for Phillip Snyman to collect and score for a 21-7 half-time lead. 

France were only side to get on the scoreboard in the second half with an unconverted try by Pierre Gilles Lakafia after poor defence by the Blitzboks.

Despite France trying to close the gap further, South Africa's defence held firm to ensure victory. 

The Blitzboks will face Argentina for the title. 


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.