Blitzboks handed easy Cape Town Sevens draw

2017-12-03 15:24

Cape Town - The red-hot South African Sevens side were handed a straight-forward draw for next weekend's HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series tournament in Cape Town.

READ: Latest HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series standings

The Blitzboks, who went unbeaten in defending their Dubai Sevens title over the weekend, will face Kenya, France and Russia in Pool A.

The Blitzboks destroyed Kenya 48-5 in Dubai, while France didn't win a single pool match, a similiar fate suffered by Russia.

Should the Blitzboks top their pool as will be expected, they will face the runners-up in Pool D, a pool which includes Fiji, Samoa, Canada and Wales.

Play in Cape Town on Saturday kicks off at 12:15.

Pools for Cape Town Sevens

Pool A: South Africa, Kenya, France, Russia
Pool B: New Zealand, Australia, Spain, USA
Pool C: England, Scotland, Argentina, Uganda
Pool D: Fiji, Samoa, Canada, Wales

Read more on:    blitzboks  |  sevens  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.