Blitzboks drawn with Australia at Paris Sevens

2019-05-27 07:14
Neil Powell
Neil Powell (Getty Images)

Cape Town - The Blitzboks have been drawn in a tricky pool for this weekend's Paris Sevens.

Neil Powell's charges will play alongside Australia, Wales and Kenya in Pool B for the final event on the 2018/19 World Rugby Sevens series calendar.

The South Africans were beaten 29-22 by Australia in the Cup quarter-finals of this past weekend's London Sevens and will be eager to make amends.

The Blitzboks ended the London Sevens in joint-seventh spot after also losing their fifth-place semi-final 21-17 to New Zealand.

It was however enough for Powell's men to qualify for the Olympic Games in Tokyo next year.

The top four teams in the World Rugby Sevens Series were guaranteed an automatic passage to the Olympic Games in the Japanese capital in 2020, with the USA, Fiji, New Zealand the other teams to have done so.

Pools for London Sevens:

Pool A

Fiji, Ireland, Argentina, England

Pool B

South Africa, Australia, Wales, Kenya

Pool C

USA, Canada, Samoa, Spain

Pool D

New Zealand, France, Scotland, Japan


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.