Blitzboks: Cape Town Sevens champs!

2015-12-13 20:13
Justin Geduld

Cape Town - The Blitzboks have won the South African leg of the World Sevens Series for the third time in a row, proving far too strong for Argentina in winning the Cape Town Sevens by 29-14.

Unlike earlier matches in the day, the Blitzboks started off very well, keeping the ball in hand and through numerous phases, but the visitors defence stood firm.

It was Argentina who scored first, launching a brilliant attack from a turnover and sending German Schulz over for a converted try in the 3rd minute. 

The Blitzboks hit back immediately when the pace of Rosco Specman proved too much for the Argentinian defence.

Justin Geduld could not convert. 

Geduld made amends with an intelligent kick in behind the Argentinian defence, allowing Seabelo Senatla to collect and score an unconverted try in the left-hand corner for a 10-7 lead after 7 minutes. 

Specman continued to terrorise the Argentinians with his electrifying pace and he was again rewarded in the 9th minute when he jinked his way past a defender to score a converted try under the posts.

Argentina refused to lie down and hit back on the stroke of half-time with an important converted try by Axel Muller. 

The two teams went into half-time with the Blitzboks holding a slender 17-14 lead. 

In the second-half both sides struggle to maintain any momentum but it was the Blitzboks who finally drew first blood when Senatla used his blistering pace and width of the field to good effect to round a defender and score in the left-hand corner.

South Africa were now in control and Geduld and De Jongh combined intelligently in midfield with De Jongh scything through to score under the posts. The referee however, ruled that the final pass to him had gone forward. 

Nothing was going to deny the Blitzboks in their home tournament and Ryno Benjamin sealed the match for the hosts after a brilliant break by Cheslin Kolbe.


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.