Blitzbok duo picked in Dubai Dream Team

2016-12-05 09:00
Seabelo Senatla (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Following their triumph at the Dubai Sevens, two Springbok Sevens stars were included in the Dream Team for the event.

The Blitzboks won the first tournament on the 2016/17 World Rugby Sevens Series calendar when they beat Fiji 26-14 in Saturday’s Cup Final.

As is customary after every tournament, a Dream Team is chosen, with two South Africans - Seabelo Senatla and Werner Kok - cracking the nod.

Senatla, World Rugby's Sevens Player of the Year, was also named Player of the Tournament after finishing top scorer with 55 points (11 tries) in Dubai.

Despite losing in the final, three Fijians - captain Osea Kolinisau, Jerry Tuwai and Setareki Bituniyata - were included, as well as England’s Ruaridh McConnochie and Welshman Ethan Davies.

Hostilities now shift to Cape Town this week for the second leg of the 2016/17 series where the Blitzboks are the defending champions, having beaten Argentina in last year’s Cup Final at Cape Town Stadium.

The Springbok Sevens were drawn in Pool A for the event, alongside Australia, USA and Russia.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.