SA to host Sevens Round 3

2013-05-17 11:38
Bernard Lapasset (AFP)
Cape Town - South Africa will host Round 3 of the HSBC Sevens World Series on December 7/8, 2013 after the International Rugby Board (IRB) confirmed the dates for the 2013/14 season on Friday.

The World Series season is set to kick off on Australia’s Gold Coast and climax in London, England.

The city of Port Elizabeth will host the Cell C Nelson Mandela Bay SA Sevens for a third time at the iconic Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, with 16 teams to compete for the sought-after tournament trophy and the valuable series points on offer.

The 15th edition of the record-breaking Series will visit the same nine countries as in 2012/13, although there are two changes in the order of rounds.

The first three events at the end of 2013 remain unchanged with Australia's standing alone in October before the Dubai-South Africa double-header. In 2014, the Series will visit the USA before New Zealand and then Japan before Hong Kong. The final two tournaments will again be in Scotland and England.

IRB chairperson Bernard Lapasset said: “With its Olympic credentials boosting rugby's landscape around the world Rugby Sevens is growing all the time, as we saw last weekend in London with world record crowds of 71 898 on day one and 113 025 over the two days.

“Throughout the 2012/13 Series we have seen once again how rugby fans are supporting these magnificent events, either attending in their many thousands or contributing to more record broadcast figures around the world, with a 10% increase in live coverage.

“As we continue on our countdown to Rugby Sevens' Olympic debut in Rio in 2016, we are delighted to have nine such strong tournaments showcasing these world class athletes and the strength of competition between them.

“Our congratulations go to New Zealand on winning their 11th Series title, and to Scotland, Spain and Portugal for winning core team status for the 2013/14 Series, which is set to be more competitive than ever.”

HSBC Sevens World Series 2013/14

Round 1 - Australia (Gold Coast) October 12/13
Round 2 - Dubai November 29/30
Round 3 - South Africa (Port Elizabeth) December 7/8

Round 4 - USA (Las Vegas) January 24-26
Round 5 - New Zealand (Wellington) February 7/8
Round 6 - Japan (Tokyo) March 22/23
Round 7 - Hong Kong March 28-30
Round 8 - Scotland (Glasgow) May 3/4
Round 9 - England (London) May 10/11

Read more on:    irb  |  sevens  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.