SA duo up for top Sevens award

2015-05-18 09:26
Werner Kok (Getty Images)

Cape Town - A shortlist of three nominees - two South Africans and one Fijian - have been unveiled for the 2015 World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year award, World Rugby has unveiled.

Following the ninth and final round of the 2014-15 Sevens World Series in London, Werner Kok, Semi Kunatani and Seabelo Senatla have been nominated for the award.

The outstanding trio were voted by the management teams of the 15 core sides who compete at all nine rounds of the World Series.

The winner will be announced at the World Rugby Awards dinner on Sunday, November 1 at Battersea Evolution, London following the 2015 Rugby World Cup final.

More about the trio:

Werner Kok (South Africa) - Having made his debut in London last season, Kok has been instrumental in South Africa’s performances in all nine of the 2014-15 tournaments, most notably in their Cup win on home soil in Port Elizabeth, and as the Blitzbokke became the first to side to confirm qualification for the Olympic Games in Rio. Kok ended the season as the leading tackler of all players.

Semi Kunatani (Fiji) - Kunatani has been impressive in both attack and defence for Ben Ryan’s side in all of their Cup titles this season, finishing the season as one of the leading tacklers and try scorers (40). Having made his debut in Dubai last season, the Fijian has earned a contract with French club Toulouse for next season, but coach Ryan will have him available for four series tournaments next season, and the Olympics, should he select him.

Seabelo Senatla (South Africa) - The youngest of the three nominees, Senatla ended the season as the leading try scorer with 47 tries and has scored two of this year’s fans’ favourites, as well as scoring in each of South Africa’s Cup final victories in Dubai and Port Elizabeth. His blistering pace has been one of the talking points of the season, with few able to catch him when he is in full flow.

World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year - Roll of honour:

2014 - Samisoni Viriviri, Fiji

2013 - Tim Mikkelson, New Zealand

2012 - Tomasi Cama, New Zealand

2011 - Cecil Afrika, South Africa

2010 - Mikaele Pesamino, Samoa

2009 - Ollie Phillips, England

2008 - DJ Forbes, New Zealand

2007 - Afeleke Pelenise, New Zealand

2006 - Uale Mai, Samoa

2005 - Orene Ai'i, New Zealand

2004 - Simon Amor, England


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.