Geduld in Sevens Dream Team

2014-05-12 13:06
Justin Geduld (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Following an enthralling nine rounds on this year's HSBC Sevens World Series, the season came to a climax at Twickenham, with New Zealand rounding off their campaign with two trophies. 

According to the IRB website, while Samisoni Viriviri collected the IRB Sevens Player of the Year 2014 award after an impressive season for Fiji, there was cause for celebration among others as awards for the first-ever rookie of the year, fair play and the infamous 'Dream Team' were given out. 

Viriviri also collected the top try scorer accolade, amassing no fewer than 52 tries across the season, 19 ahead of his closest rival, New Zealand's Tim Mikkelson.

Viriviri was also named in the second IRB Sevens Dream Team, alongside New Zealand's Scott Curry and captain DJ Forbes, Australia's Cameron Clark, Justin Geduld of South Africa and Canada's captain John Moonlight and Phil Mack.

In a Series first, a rookie of the year was also named, for a player playing in his first season on the circuit, voted for by the fans and rubber-stamped by the TV commentators. The winner, unsurprisingly, a member of the successful 12-time champions the All Blacks Sevens - Ambrose Curtis.

Scotland were the winners of the fair play award.

IRB Sevens Dream Team (

Read more on:    sevens  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.