Brown beaten to Sevens award

2014-05-12 13:06
Samisoni Viriviri (
Cape Town - Fijian flyer Samisoni Viriviri has been announced as the 2014 IRB Sevens Player of the Year.

Final standings in the 2013/14 IRB World Series

According to the IRB website, Viriviri's name was called out at a function following the London Sevens at Twickenham, the final round of the 2013/14 HSBC Sevens World Series won by New Zealand.

He becomes the first Fijian to win the award since it was first presented in 2004, having finished the season with 52 tries.

Viriviri beat fellow nominees Kyle Brown (South Africa), Tim Mikkelson (New Zealand) and Tom Mitchell (England) after the outstanding quartet had been shortlisted by the management teams of the 15 core sides who compete at all nine rounds of the World Series.

"I am very proud to win this award and be the first Fijian to be named IRB Sevens Player of the Year. I would like to thank God, my coach, my team-mates and also my mum," said an emotional Viriviri.

IRB Sevens Player of the Year - Roll of honour

2014 - Samisoni Viriviri, Fiji
2013 - Tim Mikkelson, New Zealand
2012 - Tomasi Cama, New Zealand
2011 - Cecil Afrika, South Africa
2010 - Mikaele Pesamino, Samoa
2009 - Ollie Phillips, England
2008 - DJ Forbes, New Zealand
2007 - Afeleke Pelenise, New Zealand
2006 - Uale Mai, Samoa
2005 - Orene Ai'i, New Zealand
2004 - Simon Amor, England

Read more on:    sevens  |  kyle brown  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.