Blitzbokke make three changes

2013-01-23 08:54

Cape Town - Injuries to several key players have forced Springbok Sevens coach Paul Treu to make three changes to his squad for the forthcoming HSBC Sevens World Series tournaments in New Zealand and the USA.

The Wellington Sevens tournament takes place on 1-2 February in the New Zealand capital and will be followed by the Las Vegas event a week later.

Regular captain, Kyle Brown (ankle), playmaker Cecil Afrika (knee), Branco du Preez (hamstring), Steven Hunt (ankle) and Ruwellyn Isbell (soft tissue neck injury) are all unavailable because of injury.

Those vacancies have now opened the door to, amongst others, the two 19-year old debutants in Justin Geduld and Seabelo Senatla. The promising pair, also currently part of the SA Under-20 training squad, both recently signed two-year contracts with SARU to play for the Springbok Sevens.

Pieter Engelbrecht was furthermore preferred over Bernado Botha, who was part of the squad in Port Elizabeth at the Cell C Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens.

Treu said his youthful looking squad is looking forward to the Wellington Sevens challenge.

“The New Zealand tournament is most probably the toughest test of the entire World Series,” explained Treu.

“The host country, along with Fiji and Samoa, always get massive support from the crowd, which makes it extremely difficult for the other teams.

“We will have three 19-year olds – Geduld, Senatla and Cheslin Kolbe – in our travelling squad, so from that perspective it is very exciting and I am delighted for the youngsters. However, they could not have asked for a more daunting challenge, and it will be up to them to prove themselves against strong opposition.”

The Blitzbokke are the top seeds in Pool C and will compete against Wales, Samoa and Canada for one of two qualifying spots on offer for the Cup quarterfinals. They leave for New Zealand on Friday.

The Springbok Sevens squad to Wellington and Las Vegas:
1.    Chris Dry
2.    Philip Snyman
3.    Frankie Horne (captain)
4.    Warren Whiteley
5.    Cornal Hendricks
6.    Pieter Engelbrecht
7.    Justin Geduld
8.    Stephan Dippenaar
9.    Paul Delport
10.    Cheslin Kolbe
11.    Tshotsho Mbovane
12.    Seabelo Senatla

Team management:  Paul Treu (coach), Vuyo Zangqa (assistant-coach), Ashley Evert (team manager), Hugh Everson (physiotherapist), Allan Temple-Jones (biokineticist).


  • unclejb.vansiths - 2013-01-23 09:18

    Time for Paul Treu to step aside for Vuyo now, he is loosing the plot with his selections and not even mentioning the last time we won a tournament.

  • adriaan.hugo.7 - 2013-01-23 11:01

    I agree he must move on now, his selections sucks! Can you honestly tell me off all the rugby players in SA that the best he can come up with. Where does he get these players from? His a arrogant underachiever...

  • pages:
  • 1