Blitzbokke dominate Dream Team

2014-12-15 08:58
Cecil Afrika (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Four South Africans were picked in the World Rugby Sevens Dream Team following the Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens.

The Blitzbokke defeated New Zealand 26-17 in a pulsating Cup final on Sunday night, a week after they claimed the Dubai Sevens title.

South Africa's Kwagga Smith, Seabelo Senatla, Cecil Afrika and Werner Kok were all included in the Dream Team for the tournament. The other players who made the team were the New Zealand duo of DJ Forbes and Sam Dickson and Australia's Pama Fou.

It was an extra special weekend for Afrika, who became his country's highest point scorer on the sevens circuit, passing Fabian Juries, who held the record with 925 points.

Following the successful defence of their title in Port Elizabeth, the Blitzbokke also moved to the top of the Sevens World Series points table.

The hosts trailed Fiji by two points coming into their home event, but now lead the standings with 59 points, with Fiji (51), New Zealand (47) and Australia (46) completing the top four places that would ensure automatic entry into the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro in 2016. The standings after three rounds of the Sevens World Series are:

1. South Africa 59

2. Fiji 51

3. New Zealand 47

4. Australia 46

5. Argentina 40

6. England 37

7. Samoa 29

8. Scotland 27

9. USA 26

10. Wales 25


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.