Scots defend selection of SA duo

2015-06-02 22:55
Joshua Strauss (Gallo Images)

Edinburgh - Scotland head coach Vern Cotter has defended his decision to select South Africa-born pair Josh Strauss and WP Nel in his 46-man squad for a Rugby World Cup training camp.

Glasgow number eight Strauss and Edinburgh prop Nel are not yet eligible to play for Scotland, but both will be available by the time the World Cup gets underway in England in September and Cotter is keen to take a closer look at the duo.

Nel, born in the Northern Cape, is just days away from passing the residency criteria after three years, while Cape Town-born Strauss, who became a Celtic League champion with Glasgow last weekend, will qualify just days before Cotter's team open their World Cup campaign against Japan on September 23.

The selection of non-native Scots has long proved a contentious issue for Scottish rugby, yet Cotter, desperate to improve a team whose Six Nations campaign featured five successive defeats, is not worried about the new recruits having split loyalties when they face South Africa in their third World Cup Pool B clash on October 3.

"I am happy to see these two players pull on a jersey and play for Scotland because I think they want to and I think they deserve to," Cotter said on Tuesday.

"Just look at Josh for Glasgow at the weekend. He was outstanding. WP's children were born in Scotland. When you talk to these players they are very passionate about this being their country. This is where they live now.

"I think they will add value to the team. If it's going to make this team perform well, that's a good thing."

Meanwhile, Scotland flanker John Barclay has been given renewed hope of a return from international exile after being named in the training squad.

Barclay had been missing from the Scotland squad for the last two years despite his impressive form for Welsh region Scarlets.

But Cotter's decision to take a closer look at the 28-year-old is a boost to his hopes of securing a place at the World Cup.

Mike Cusack is named after a two-year injury lay-off and Glasgow's Ryan Wilson is included despite his four-month suspension following a court conviction for assault.

Scotland squad:


Mike Cusack, Allan Dell, Alasdair Dickinson, Ryan Grant, WP Nel, Gordon Reid, Jon Welsh, Fraser Brown, Ross Ford, Stuart McInally, Grant Gilchrist, Jonny Gray, Richie Gray, Jim Hamilton, Robert Harle, Tim Swinson, Adam Ashe, John Barclay, Hugh Blake, Blair Cowan, David Denton, Josh Strauss, Alasdair Strokosch, Ryan Wilson, Hamish Watson


Chris Cusiter, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Greig Laidlaw, Henry Pyrgos, Ruaridh Jackson, Finn Russell, Duncan Weir, Mark Bennett, Alex Dunbar, Peter Horne, Matt Scott, Duncan Taylor, Richie Vernon, Stuart Hogg, Damien Hoyland, Rory Hughes, Sean Lamont, Sean Maitland, Tommy Seymour, Greig Tonks, Tim Visser

Read more on:    scotland  |  rwc 2015  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.