Schmidt unveils first squad

2013-10-23 15:36
Joe Schmidt (Getty Images)

Dublin - Joe Schmidt have  named three uncapped players in his first squad since becoming Ireland coach when he unveiled a 34-man party on Wednesday for next month's Tests at home to Samoa, Australia and New Zealand.

Leinster's Dace Kearney and Jack McGrath were called up alongside Munster's James Coughlan with the likes of Stephen Ferris, Richardt Strauss, Tommy O'Donnell, Jordi Murphy and Simon Zebo joined on the injured list last weekend by Donnacha Ryan (knee) and Iain Henderson (toe).

As expected, veteran centre Brian O'Driscoll, in what the star midfielder has indicated will be his final season before retirement, was included.

So too was Jonathan Sexton, with the Paris-based Racing Metro fly-half -- one of the heroes of this year's British and Irish Lions series win in Australia -- the only player at an overseas club in the squad.

For Schimdt, who guided Irish province Leinster to two European Cup triumphs before succeeding Declan Kidney as Ireland coach, the matches will give him his first chance to assess the strength of the national squad in the run-up to the 2015 World Cup in England.

And the final match of the November series against his native New Zealand, the reigning world champions and a team Ireland have never beaten in 27 previous attempts, promises to be a particularly stiff test.

"The squad combines players who have shown form in the domestic season mixed with those who have a proven record at international level," Schmidt said in an Irish Rugby Football Union statement.

"As always there were some very difficult decisions. Some players have had limited opportunity to impress due to injury and others have performed very well and it was difficult to leave them out."

Ireland squad


Isaac Boss (Leinster), Tommy Bowe (Ulster), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Keith Earls (Munster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), David Kearney (Leinster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Luke Marshall (Ulster), Fergus McFadden (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro/FRA)


Stephen Archer (Munster), Rory Best (Ulster), James Coughlan (Munster), Tom Court (Ulster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Declan Fitzpatrick (Ulster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Chris Henry (Ulster), Mike McCarthy (Leinster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Kevin McLaughlin (Leinster), Sean O'Brien (Leinster), Paul O'Connell (Munster), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Mike Sherry (Munster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Dan Tuohy (Ulster)

Fixtures (all at Lansdowne Road, Dublin, all times CAT):

November 9: Ireland v Samoa (19:45)

November 16: Ireland v Australia (19:45)

November 24: Ireland v New Zealand (16:00)

Read more on:    rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.