Schmidt shuffles Ireland pack

2014-01-14 21:30
Joe Schmidt (Getty Images)

London - Ireland coach Joe Schmidt has included seven uncapped players in an enlarged 44-man squad for the 2014 Six Nations announced on Tuesday.

Connacht's New Zealand-born prop Rodney Ah You was among the newcomers along with Cardiff Blues' Robin Copeland and their fellow forwards Robbie Diack, Rob Herring, Martin Moore and Jordi Murphy, with Kieran Marmion the lone uncapped back.

Injuries meant Richardt Strauss, Donnacha Ryan, Roger Wilson, Tommy Bowe, Simon Zebo, Declan Fitzpatrick and Craig Gilroy were left out at this stage, with the septet first having to convince Schmidt of their fitness at provincial level before he considers them for Test deuty in what will be the New Zealander's first Six Nations as Ireland coach.

But back-rows Sean O'Brien and Stephen Ferris are unlikely to be fit in time to feature in this season's Championship.

"As always a number of the selections were very tight," Schmidt said in an Irish Rugby Football Union statement.

"Following on from the end-of-year internationals, there is an experienced core of players in the squad who will offer continuity, as well as some new additions who have been selected with an eye to the future," added Schmidt, who so nearly guided Ireland to a first win over his native New Zealand before the side lost 24-22 to the world champion All Blacks in Dublin in November.

"With Robin Copeland returning to play in Ireland next season (with Munster) it will be an opportunity for him to impress during the training week, while some of the younger or less experienced players such as Rob Herring, Iain Henderson, Rhys Ruddock, Kieran Marmion and Felix Jones have turned in some very positive performances to earn spots in the squad."

Ireland begin what is set to be Brian O'Driscoll's final Six Nations before retirement against Scotland at Dublin's Lansdowne Road on February 2.

O'Driscoll needs to make just one more Ireland appearance to take sole possession of the Irish record of 128 caps he shares with former fly-half Ronan O'Gara.

Ireland squad:


Isaac Boss (Leinster), Darren Cave (Ulster), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Keith Earls (Munster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Felix Jones (Munster), David Kearney (Leinster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Ian Keatley (Munster), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Luke Marshall (Ulster), Fergus McFadden (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro/FRA), Andrew Trimble (Ulster)


Rodney Ah You (Connacht), Stephen Archer (Munster), Rory Best (Ulster), Robin Copeland (Cardiff Blues/WAL), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Robbie Diack (Ulster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Chris Henry (Ulster), Rob Herring (Ulster),David Kilcoyne (Munster), Mike McCarthy (Leinster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Martin Moore (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Paul O'Connell (Munster), Tommy O'Donnell (Munster), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Dan Tuohy (Ulster), Damian Varley (Munster)


2 February: v Scotland (h)

8 February: v Wales (h)

22 February: v England (a)

8 March: v Italy (h)

15 March: v France (a)

Read more on:    six nations  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.