SBW to start against Warriors

2013-03-12 10:14
Sonny Bill Williams (Getty)
Sydney - Sonny Bill Williams' return to the NRL has stepped up another notch with the cross-code superstar promoted to the Sydney Roosters starting line-up for Saturday night's clash with the New Zealand Warriors at Eden Park.

According to the website, Williams, who made a heavily scrutinised comeback to the competition he deserted in 2008 during last Thursday's Premiership-launching clash with South Sydney, replaces Mitchell Aubusson in the second row.

The former All Black, who returns to Eden Park for the first time since the Bledisloe Cup was retained with a 22-0 blanking of the Wallabies last August, played 53 minutes off the interchange bench against the Rabbitohs - enough to convince new head coach Trent Robinson Williams was ready to start.

Williams began his comeback playing in the middle of the park but is expected to revert to the edges against the Warriors - the area where he had most impact for the Bulldogs until a sudden switch to French club rugby.

Despite his star-studded side's 28-10 defeat at the Sydney Football Stadium, Robinson has kept faith with the personnel exposed by their bitter rivals.

Williams is the only change to the starting line-up while the Roosters head to Auckland on Thursday while another new acquisition, former NSW State of Origin enforcer Luke O'Donnell is poised to his Roosters debut off the bench.

He replaces New Zealand-born impact forward Tinirau Arona while Boyd Cordner and Dylan Napa are travelling as injury cover.

Meanwhile, the encounter between two heavy losers in the opening round also features five-eighth James Maloney's return to the club where his first grade career blossomed between 2010 and last year.

Maloney left the Warriors on an eight-match losing streak at the end of last season - the sequence ended to nine on Saturday thanks to a dismal 40-10 thumping at Parramatta.

Sydney Roosters: Anthony Minichiello (captain), Daniel Tupou, Michael Jennings, Shaun Kenny-Dowall, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, James Maloney, Mitchell Pearce, Frank-Paul Nuuausala, Sonny Bill Williams, Aiden Guerra, Sam Moa, Jake Friend, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves. Interchange: Daniel Mortimer, Martin Kennedy, Mitchell Aubusson, Luke O'Donnell.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.